Second DUI Convictions Come with Harsher Sentences
If you already have a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction, further convictions for DUI means stricter consequences. Choosing the right criminal law attorney is crucial when the stakes are so high. You need a knowledgeable Philadelphia multiple DUI attorney who will fight aggressively to defend you. van der Veen, O’Neill, Hartshorn, and Levin will put in our maximum effort to get your charges dropped or reduced. We have experience fighting DUI charges and defending our clients with a fierce passion for justice.
DUI Tiers in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania has a tiered series of penalties based on the person’s BAC (blood-alcohol concentration) level. The three levels of DUI are:
- General Impairment (.08 to .099% BAC)
- High BAC (.10 to .159% BAC)
- Highest BAC (.16% BAC and higher)
Minors, school bus drivers, commercial vehicle drivers, and drivers involved in accidents that caused injury, death, or property damage may face penalties in the high BAC category even if their BAC does not meet the requirements. Further, if a driver declines breath or chemical testing he may also face the highest BAC penalties. Ignition locks are mandatory for any second DUI convictions.
General Impairment 2nd DUI Penalty
If a person has at least one prior DUI conviction in the past 10 years, another charge is considered a second DUI offense. A second DUI conviction means possible fines between $330 to $2,500, five days in jail to six months in jail, and a license suspension for 12 months. The driver will also have to successfully finish an alcohol safety course and may also be required to attend substance abuse training.
High BAC Second DUI Penalty
A driver with one prior DUI offense is charged with a misdemeanor for a subsequent DUI. The penalties are $750 to $5,000 in fines, between 30 days and six months in prison, a 12-month suspended license, alcohol highway safety school, and substance treatment if ordered.
Penalties for Highest BAC DUI Second Offense
With one prior DUI offense, a driver faces a first-degree misdemeanor for a second DUI offense. If convicted, the driver faces fines between $1,500 and $10,000, 90 days to five years in prison, license suspension for 18 months, and completion of an alcohol highway safety program. Substance abuse treatment may also be ordered.
Hire a Skilled Multiple DUI Attorney Immediately
First-time offenders are offered treatment rather than harsh punishment but an offender facing another DUI charge is not so fortunate. With convictions of up to five years, second time DUI charges are a serious matter. Do not face these charges without proper representation. Contact a Philadelphia multiple DUI lawyer for a free consultation. The the attorneys at the Law Office of van der Veen, O’Neill, Hartshorn, and Levin value your freedom and want to help you. This entire ordeal can be a scary process but we have the experience and drive needed to get your charges reduced or dismissed entirely. Call 215-515-6892 to schedule a meeting in our downtown Philadelphia offices.